Our Alumni are fired up!

We had a ton of alumni updates in April. Read here all the great things our UNCG alumni are doing! You can add your updates to our update form. Don’t forget to join us for the Alumni Luncheon this coming Saturday!

June Power (2003), Access Services/Reference Librarian, UNC at Pembroke; Pembroke, NC: Member of the editorial board for the Journal of Access Services, and in which I regularly publish two columns – Access the Web and Access Interviews. I have also had a couple of book chapters published on the topics of laptop circulation and training student assistants. I have also given a number of regional and national presentations at professional conferences in the areas of access services. I am up for tenure this year at UNCP, and should find out in May.

Lauren Pressley (2007), Instructional Design Librarian, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem: My second book, Wikis For Libraries just came out: http://www.neal-schuman.com/bdetail.php?isbn=9781555707101

Amy Pace (2008), Lead Librarian, High Point University: High Point, NC: I became a librarian at HPU in November 2009 in the new University Center facility on campus.

Dianne Ford (2002), Coordinator of Serials and Government Documents; Science Liaison, Elon University, Elon, NC: I’m busy at Elon doing what most serials and docs librarians are doing right now – transitioning rapidly to e-format, with accompanying weeding and shifting. It’s a good thing I enjoy that! I’m working on a book review for ‘NC LIBRARIES’.

Renee Watson Dusenbury (2000), Librarian (Media), Central Carolina Community College: Employee of the Year (Staff) for Central Carolina Community College 2009

Amy W. Boykin (1993), Instruction Librarian, Christopher Newport University: I have been a reference librarian here at CNU for years, and in January 2010, my job focus shifted slightly and I became the first instruction librarian. I now get to coordinate instruction, visit faculty meetings, encourage everyone to take advantage of our new online request form, and create online tutorials and subject-specific modules to help students search and research what they need quickly and efficiently. Now that there is a campus-wide push to encourage undergraduate research, I am really going to be in the thick of things. Thank you, UNCG, for a great education and for that essential ALA-accredited MLS!

Carol G. Walters (1977), Director of Libraries, Sandhill Regional Library System, Rockingham, NC: Director of the Largest Rural Library System in NC! And, love it most every day.

Carol Stanley (1988), Branch Librarian, Athens Technical College, Elbert County Campus, Elberton, GA: Hello All! I’ve been out of touch but you are always in my hearts. A highlight of 2010 was having Dr. Jim Carmichael come down to Georgia for a scintillating program on Southern librarians of yesteryear in January. Why did he do that? Well, I’m serving as the President of the Georgia Library Association for 2010 and who else would you want to come give a highly entertaining and informative program, but the Georgia native himself! I’ve been in Georgia for 15 years at Athens Technical College and love cataloging, teaching, and best of all personal reference service. Yes, UNCG is special to not only myself, but my husband of 21 years, David Stegall, whom I met when we were both grad assistants in the department. He has since left us….I mean he is still with us….just went to pursue his first love of teaching Philosophy which he does at Clemson. Take care and I look forward to catching up with folks.

Donna Windish (2003), Instructional Services Librarian, Randolph Community College, Asheboro, NC

Leave a Reply

