Message from the LISAA President

My fellow Librarians, ask not what your alumni association can do for you, but what you can do for your alumni association.

Whew! That’s out of my system and I can move on to the real reason for this post. Greetings! I’m so excited to be the president of LISAA this year. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Amy Harris Houk. I graduated from the program in 2005 and moved all the way down College Ave to work as the Information Literacy Program Coordinator at Jackson Library. I’m working with a great board this year: Kathy Shields is VP/president-elect, Mendy Ozan is secretary, Erin Sapienza is treasurer, Randall Bowman is past president, Lynda Kellam and Lara Crews are in charge of communication, Michelle Folkman is our student representative, and, last but certainly not least, the always marvelous Jim Carmichael is our faculty advisor.

We are looking forward to a great year! I hope you’ll go ahead and put March 23 on your calendar for the Alumni Luncheon. If you have other ideas for events LISAA should sponsor, I would love to hear from you.

I hope you will stay in touch with us through our Facebook page, by adding your information to the alumni directory, and of course by staying tuned to the blog. If you have any feedback for me, you can reach me at amy_harris @ uncg.edu.

I’m looking forward to seeing you all at the luncheon and staying in touch between now and then!

Leave a Reply

