Alumni Spotlight: Pete Turner

Enjoying his job!

Had you worked in other areas before entering library school?
Before returning to school for my LIS, I worked as an actor for about 20 years. During that time I did a lot of children’s theatre, and really came to love the audience and the literature. I was very fortunate to work at Nashville Children’s Theatre with their artistic director Scot Copeland. Scot refuses to talk down to children and loves to bring classic children’s literature to life. I’ve kept that philosophy myself, and encourage my students to check out a variety of materials.
What was your first library/information/technology job?
While at UNCG, I interned with Jenny Raabe at Jackson Library learning to catalog with her. I was also a reference intern at Jackson, and interned a bit with the ILL department. I really appreciate all the experience the fine people at Jackson shared with me during this time.
What do you remember most about your time in the UNCG-LIS program?
I remember the connections I made with the professors and the other students. I found the faculty engaging and approachable.
What is your current position and what does it entail?
I am the school librarian at the Greensboro Montessori School. We are a small, private school that serves children from toddler through 8th grade. As I’m the only librarian here, I get to do everything from story times to collection development, reference, and cataloging. I also work extensively with the middle school students, teaching a technology class for them as well as accompanying them to our land campus. The Land, as we call it, is perhaps the most unusual part of this job. 5 times a year, our middle school travels to a neighboring county and spends the week camping out and having classes. It is both exciting and exhausting.
Do you have any projects going on that you are particularly excited about?
I will be co-presenting a workshop about our land program at two upcoming conferences. I am also writing a children’s book.
Beyond the professional skills learned at UNCG, what personal skills do you bring to your job?
I think my experience as an actor serves me especially well for story time.
What is your most recent favorite book?
“This Dark Endeavor” by Kenneth Oppel. Also, “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.
Anything else you’d like to say to the UNCG-LIS Alumni community?
I love my job!

Leave a Reply

