Save the date!!

For the annual UNCG Library and Information Studies Alumni Luncheon! It will be held on May 1 (ah, May Day) at the Alumni House on UNCG’s campus. More information will be coming soon!


Nominations for the Kovacs Award, 2010

The Executive Board is requesting nominations for the Kovacs Award for Outstanding Alumni Achievement. The Kovacs Award is presented annually by the UNCG-LIS Alumni Association to a graduate of the UNCG Department of Library and Information Studies who has made significant contributions to libraries, education, and information science. The award honors former faculty member Dr. Bea Kovacs and recognizes individuals whose career work and service embody the values and accomplishments exemplified by Dr. Kovacs. Among these are:

  • Exceptional service to the users of libraries and school media centers.
  • Innovative and creative leadership that benefits colleagues, institutions, and professional organizations.
  • Scholarly excellence in research and publication.
  • Excellence in the education and mentoring of future librarians and teachers.

Please send nominations to Jeff Stabnau ( Your e-mail should include the nominee’s contact information and an adequate description of the nominee’s accomplishments, contributions, and qualifications. Nominations must be received by March 1, 2010.

The Kovacs Award carries on a tradition which originated with the UNCG-LIS Alumni Association’s Outstanding Alumna / Alumnus Award. The award was officially renamed during ceremonies honoring Dr. Kovacs at the alumni luncheon on April 21, 2007.

Previous recipients of the award are:

Mary Kit Dunn, class of 1969
Frances Bradburn, class of 1981
Wilma Bates, class of 1976
Judy LeCroy, class of 1982
Lou Sua, class of 1988
Sue Spencer, class of 1980
Wanda K. Brown, class of 1983